Kurd Laßwitz Preis nominations

The Kurd Laßwitz Preis is the most important German science fiction award, bestowed by the science fiction professional in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. I have received the award three times, in 2000 for the translation of Iain M. Banks’ Feersum Endjinn in collaboration with Horst Pukallus and in 2008 and 2011 for my novellas “Der Moloch” and “Die Schwelle”.

Award trustee Udo Klotz has recently announced the nominations for 2019. I was honored to note that I have been nominated in the special award category, together with Ronald M. Hahn, Helmuth W. Mommers and my subsequent co-editors Olaf G. Hilscher, Frank Hebben and Michael Haitel, for the founding and continuation of the German science fiction magazine Nova which is on the market since 2002.

Nova has fared well on this year’s KLP shortlist. No less than three stories from Nova have been nominated in the best story category: Heidrun Jänchen’s “Baum Baum Baum” and Thomas Sieber’s “Enola in Ewigkeit” (my favorite) from Nova #25 as well es Thorsten Küper’s “Confinement” from Nova #26.