Afterthought: An exhaustive Second Life weekend

Toward the end of the year I usually invite friends and fellow writers to my home for a pre-Christmas celebration. This time I tried something new and extended our gathering last Saturday into a hybrid world party. While tending to my guests in real life, I also moderated the official opening of my two new projects, the World Culture Hub and The Turing Galaxy, in the 3d Internet world of Second Life. I hope it has been an interesting experience for both sides. While the guests gathered around my computer screen could follow the guided tour, the exhibitions and the readings by Nova authors Marcus Hammerschmitt and Guido Seifert, the visitors inworld may not just have heard my comments but some wicked remarks in the background.

Burkhard Tom-Bubb, the fastest Second Life blogger known to mankind, has again been the first to put a report on the event with an extensive picture gallery online. Another report with a lot of pictures can be found at Hydorgol’s website.

The Second Life weekend wasn’t yet over for me with that. On Sunday night I took part in a scenic reading of Thorsten Küper’s story “Der Hummer vor den Toren”, recently published in the anthology Tiefraumphasen (Begedia). Set designer Barlok Barbosa created several settings of the story exclusively for the reading. Four of Thorsten’s aka Kueperpunk Korhonen’s fellow writers took speaking parts of some of the story’s characters. It was an interesting and, as I hope, trend-setting experiment that worked remarkably well (even I didn’t manage to miss my entry). I guess we all agree that especially Bernhard Giersche’s performance as the dying corporate big shot Cronstetten was worth listening.

