German Science Fiction Award for “Zur Feier meines Todes”

It has just been announced that my novella “Zur Feier meines Todes” (“Celebrating My Death”), included in my first story collection Die letzten Tage der Ewigkeit, published by Wurdack last year, will be awarded with the Deutsche Science Fiction Preis (German Science Fiction Award) as best story of the year. The winner of the novel category is Andreas Brandhorst for Das Artefakt, published by Heyne. Following my winning novella are three stories by Karsten Kruschel, Matthias Falke and Michael Marrak from the issues #19 and #20 of Nova, the German science fiction magazine that I edit with Olaf G. Hilscher.

The German Science Fiction Award is bestowed by the Science Fiction Club Deutschland (SFCD), the oldest and largest German science fiction club. After 2002 for “Wege ins Licht”, 2004 for “Ich fürchte kein Unglück” and 2006 for “Psyhack” it’s the fourth time that I win this award, more than any other writer in the story category. Adding two Kurd Laßwitz Awards – bestowed by the science fiction professionals in Germany, Austria and Swiss – for “Der Moloch” in 2008 and “Die Schwelle” in 2011 all of my so far six novellas have been honored with one of these two major German sf awards.

