Essay on Lucius Shepard’s short fiction in Quarber Merkur

It’s quite a while ago that I wrote the last of my extensive essays on major science fiction short story writers. A project that I started in 2008 but that lay idle for a while was an essay on the short fiction of Lucius Shepard, one of the most important writers in contemporary American science fiction and fantasy. Although there are a lot of reviews and interviews to be found in the net, there have been, as far as I can see, no comprehensive critical studies of Lucius’ work so far. A few weeks ago I finally completed my essay and I hope it may help readers to recognize rhe recurring themes and patterns in his many excellent tales and to provide some groundwork for futher analysis. The essay will be published in issue 113 of the renowned critical magazine Quarber Merkur, edited by Franz Rottensteiner and published by the Erster Deutscher Fantasy Club (First German Fantasy Club). Have a look here for the publishing date.

